Discipline: Literature – poetry

Eileen Myles

Discipline: Literature – poetry
Region: New York
MacDowell fellowships: 1991, 1996, 2009, 2014, 2019

Eileen Myles is a poet, novelist, and art journalist. They were born in Boston (1949) and moved to New York in 1974 to be a poet. They are the author of 21 books including evolution (poems, 2018) and Afterglow (a dog memoir) and Chelsea Girls. Their new and selected poems I Must Be Living Twice was published in 2015. They're a Guggenheim fellow and in 2014 they received a grant from the Foundation for Contemporary Art, Warhol/Creative Capital, the Clark award for excellence in art writing and in 2019 they received a poetry award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters. At MacDowell, Eileen completed an essay for the Joan Mitchell retrospective at the Guggenheim in 2020, wrote one good poem and worked on a novel-in-progress. They began the intro for a forthcoming anthology she’s editing entitled Pathetic Literature.

Portrait by Alice O’Malley


New Jersey

Eileen Myles worked in the New Jersey studio.

Learn more