MacDowell Freedom to Create Logo About MacDowell Apply Artists Events News Give Portable MacDowell
Medal Day t the MacDowell Colony
Writer Thornton Wilder receives the first annual Edward MacDowell Medal in 1960.
Photo by Herbert Whitney.

Medal Day History

Since the Edward MacDowell Medal was first awarded in 1960, artists who have received this honor include Leonard Bernstein, John Updike, Georgia O'Keeffe, I.M. Pei, and Merce Cunningham. The artistic discipline in which the award is given rotates in order to celebrate all of the creative fields practiced at MacDowell. The Medal Day ceremony features not only the honoree but also a well-known presentation speaker who is familiar with the Medalist's work. Past speakers include visual artist Richard Serra, writer William Styron, and Pulitzer Prize-winning architecture critic Robert Campbell.

Below is a complete list of MacDowell Medalists, along with the presentation speaker for each year. (Asterisks denote Colony Fellows.)

Edward MacDowell Medalists

2015 Gunther Schuller Composer Yehudi Wyner and Terrance McKnight
2014 Betye Saar Visual Artist Lowery Stokes Sims
2013 Stephen Sondheim Composer Frank Rich
2012 Nan Goldin Photograher Luc Sante
2011 Edward Albee Playwright Mike Nichols
2010 Sonny Rollins Composer Gary Giddins*
2009 Kiki Smith Visual Artist Lynne Tillman*
2008 Thom Mayne Architect Robert Campbell
2007 Les Blank Filmmaker Fred Wiseman
2006 Alice Munro Writer Virginia Barber
2005 Steve Reich Composer Richard Serra and David Lang
2004 Nam June Paik Visual Artist John Hanhardt
2003 Merce Cunningham Interdisciplinary Artist Meredith Monk*
2002 Robert Frank Visual Artist Philip Brookman
2001 Philip Roth Writer William Styron
2000 Lou Harrison Composer Dennis Russell Davies
1999 Ellsworth Kelly Visual Artist James Cuno
1998 I. M. Pei Architect J. Carter Brown
1997 Chuck Jones Filmmaker John Canemaker
1996 Joan Didion Writer Elizabeth Hardwick
1995 George Crumb Composer Christopher Rouse
1994 Jasper Johns Visual Artist Kirk Varnedoe
1993 Harry Callahan Photographer Anne Tucker
1992 Richard Wilbur Writer Richard Howard
1991 David Diamond* Composer Joseph Polisi
1990 Louise Bourgeois Visual Artist Robert Storr
1989 Stan Brakhage Filmmaker John Hanhardt
1988 William Styron Writer George Plimpton
1987 Leonard Bernstein* Composer Ned Rorem*
1986 Lee Friedlander Photographer John Szarkowski
1985 Robert Motherwell Visual Artist Varujan Boghosian
1984 Mary McCarthy Writer Elizabeth Hardwick
1983 Elliott Carter Composer Michael Steinberg
1982 Isamu Noguchi Visual Artist William Lieberman
1981 John Updike Writer Wilfred Sheed
1980 Samuel Barber Composer Charles Wadsworth
1979 John Cheever Writer Elizabeth Hardwick
1978 Richard Diebenkorn Visual Artist John Canaday
1977 Virgil Thomson* Composer Alfred Frankenstein*
1976 Lillian Hellman Writer John Hersey
1975 Willem de Kooning Visual Artist Dore Ashton
1974 Walter Piston Composer Michael Steinberg
1973 Norman Mailer Writer John Leonard
1972 Georgia O'Keeffe Visual Artist Eric Larrabee
1971 William Schuman Composer Aaron Copland*
1970 Eudora Welty Writer Elizabeth Janeway
1969 Louise Nevelson Visual Artist John Canaday
1968 Roger Sessions Composer Edward T. Cone
1967 Marianne Moore Writer Glenn Wescott
1966 Edward Hopper Visual Artist Lloyd Goodrich
1965 Edgard Varese Composer Milton Babbitt
1964 Edmund Wilson Writer Aaron Copland*
1963 Alexander Calder Visual Artist Meyer Shapiro
1962 Robert Frost Writer Aaron Copland*
1961 Aaron Copland* Composer Irving Kolodin
1960 Thornton Wilder* Writer Edward Weeks

Medal Day Speeches
The MacDowell Colony newsletter chronicles Medal Day speeches for the enjoyment of those who could not attend. You may click on the years below to read prior speeches.

Medal Day 2009 — Visual Artist Kiki Smith; presentation speaker Lynne Tillman
Medal Day 2008 — Architect Thom Mayne; presentation speaker Robert Campbell
Medal Day 2007 — Filmmaker Les Blank; presentation speaker Fred Wiseman
Medal Day 2006 — Writer Alice Munro; presentation speaker Virginia Barber
Medal Day 2005 — Composer Steve Reich; presentation speaker Richard Serra

Medal Day Slideshow
View an online gallery of the 50th anniversary of Medal Day, which honored visual artist Kiki Smith in August, 2009.

Below are two performances from previous Medal Day ceremonies. In 2005, acclaimed group So Percussion performed music by Medalist Steve Reich. In 2003, well-known composer and Colony Fellow Meredith Monk performed a tribute piece for friend and Medalist Merce Cunningham.

Medal Day 2005 Movie Link
Medal Day 2005 Movie Link
Performance at Medal Day, 2005
Meredith Monk performing at Medal Day, 2003

This performance is copyrighted by Meredith Monk and may not be reproduced, copied, or distributed in any way without the express permission of Ms. Monk.